Writing Contest Winners 2024

3rd Grade—Elizabeth Lent Pollard
4th Grade—Colin Hill
5th Grade— Irelyn Massey
6th-8th Grade—Ben Pealo
Adult—Tyler Samanns

Most Creative—Irelyn Massey
Judge’s Choice Award—Mike Cecconi

Isabel Sorensen
Carson Thompson
Jordan Clark
Levi Winchell
Madeline LaFay
Eleanor Sorensen
Dorothy Nimeh
Lilliana Phillips
Nola Lappin
Arianna Kuryla
Lilia Ezzo
Gage Crouth
Jillian Brooks
Calvin Fordyce
Adrianna Rocker
Wyatt Tuthill
Whitney Parks
Madelyn Enders
Jade Liepke
Mike Cecconi
Katie Newcomb
Maggie Ann Lockett

Thank you for all who participated in this years’ writing contest
and congratulations to all of our winners

Writing Contest Rules 2024

Be Creative—Be Your Own Author!

Baum penned 13 sequels to “The Wonderful Wizard of Oz.” New characters and adventures were introduced in each book. You can use Baum characters or create your own Oz characters or a combination of both to create your Land of Oz story.

There are six categories for entrants this year: 3rd grade, 4th grade, 5th grade, 6th-8th, 9th–12th grades and adult group. Prizes will be awarded in each category.

Story Requirements

1. The story must be about the Land of Oz and the wonderful characters that live and visit there.

2. Story must have a title. 

3. The story must be 600 words or fewer.

General Rules

1. Only one entry per person.

2. All entries must be typed, double-spaced, front side only on white printer paper (entries of more than one page should be stapled in the upper left-hand corner).

3. Entries can be mailed to:


Royal Historian of Oz Writing Contest

P. O. Box 456

Chittenango, NY 13037

4. Electronic entries can be emailed to Contests@AllThingsOz.org
Electronic entries must include registration form and name/phone number on every page.

5. Entries will not be returned and will become the property of

6. The registration form should be clipped, filled out completely, and attached to the entry. Be sure your name and phone number are on each page of your entry.

7. All entries must be postmarked by  midnight on April 29, 2024.

8. The entries will be judged by qualified professionals.

9. The winners will be announced the week of May 27, 2024, on the
Oz-Stravaganza! website (www. oz-stravaganza.com) and will be notified by phone or email.

10. Prizes will be awarded to the winners at an awards ceremony on the main stage in Oz Park Sunday June 2nd at noon. Prizes will be mailed to any winners unable to attend the ceremony.

11. For further information contact: Mark Zane, 315-498-7254

zanem@sunyocc.edu or Judy Fogus, 315-391-0842

12. Additional entry forms available at www. oz-stravaganza.com.


Members of the Oz-Stravaganza! Committee ARE NOT allowed to enter the contest.

Collage of Oz Books

The L. Frank Baum Oz Series

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz

The Marvelous Land of Oz

Ozma of Oz

Dorothy and the Wizard in Oz

The Road to Oz

The Emerald City of Oz

The Patchwork Girl of Oz

Tik-Tok of Oz

The Scarecrow of Oz

Rinkitink of Oz

The Lost Princess of Oz

The Tin Woodman of Oz

The Magic of Oz

Glinda of Oz

Writing Contest Rules & Registration Form

Royal Historian of Oz Writing Contest brochure(2024)FINAL DIGITAL.pdf

Click here to download the 2024 Royal Historian of Oz Writing Contest 

Copyright ©2024 Oz-Stravaganza!™ is part of the THE INTERNATIONAL L. FRANK BAUM AND ALL THINGS OZ HISTORICAL FOUNDATION. All rights reserved.