3rd Grade
Austin Abbe

4th Grade       
Ellyn Zappola

5th Grade
Emily Sheridan

6th-8th Grade
Grace Aloi

9th-12th Grade
Danielle Mackey

Maggie Ann Lockett  



Judges Choice Award
Danielle Mackey

Most Creative
Maggie Ann Lockett

Most Entertaining
Whitney Parks

Oz Writing Contest Winners


Isabel Sorensen

Paige Ramie

Kyleigh Johnson

Irelyn Massey

Whitney Parks

Leah Cann

Becket Ireland

Raegan Blount

Thomas Nimeh

Cadyn Chaffee

Oliva Labulis

Lilly Crayton

Carson Schroller

Giavonna Atkins

Camille Cusimano

Riley Wilczarski

Jacob Ely

Reese Blair

Kylie Checksfield

Lillian Keville

Paige Phillips

Todd Sorensen

Katrina Petroski

Catherine Shenkel

Writing Contest Rules

Be Creative—Be Your Own Author!

Baum penned 13 sequels to “The Wonderful Wizard of Oz.” New characters and adventures were introduced in each book. You can use Baum characters or create your own Oz characters or a combination of both to create your Land of Oz story.

There are six categories for entrants this year: 3rd grade, 4th grade, 5th grade, 6th-8th, 9th–12th grades and adult group. Prizes will be awarded in each category.

Story Requirements

1. The story must be about the Land of Oz and the wonderful characters that live and visit there.

2. Story must have a title. 

3. The story must be 600 words or fewer.

1. Only one entry per person.

2. All entries must be typed, double-spaced, front side only on white printer paper (entries of more than one page should be stapled in the upper left-hand corner).

3. Entries can be mailed to:


Royal Historian of Oz Writing Contest

P. O. Box 456

Chittenango, NY 13037

4. Electronic entries can be emailed to Contests@AllThingsOz.org

5. Entries will not be returned and will become the property of

6. The registration form should be clipped, filled out completely, and attached to the entry. Be sure your name and phone number are on each page of your entry.

7. All entries must be postmarked by  midnight on April 30, 2023.

8. The entries will be judged by qualified professionals.

9. The winners will be announced the week of May 29, 2023, on the
Oz-Stravaganza! website (www. oz-stravaganza.com) and will be notified by phone or email.

10. Prizes will be awarded to the winners at an awards ceremony on the main stage in Oz Park Sunday June 4th at noon. Prizes will be mailed to any winners unable to attend the ceremony.

11. For further information contact: Mark Zane, 315-498-7254

zanem@sunyocc.edu or Judy Fogus, 315-391-0842

12. Additional entry forms available at www. oz-stravaganza.com.


Members of the Oz-Stravaganza! Committee ARE NOT allowed to enter the contest.

(Sponsored by Chittenango Rotary, Chittenango  Lions Club, SeGuin Land Surveying)

Collage of Oz Books

The L. Frank Baum Oz Series

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz

The Marvelous Land of Oz

Ozma of Oz

Dorothy and the Wizard in Oz

The Road to Oz

The Emerald City of Oz

The Patchwork Girl of Oz

Tik-Tok of Oz

The Scarecrow of Oz

Rinkitink of Oz

The Lost Princess of Oz

The Tin Woodman of Oz

The Magic of Oz

Glinda of Oz

Writing Contest Rules & Registration Form

Royal Historian of Oz Writing Contest brochure( FINAL DIGITAL2023).pdf

Click here to download the 2023 Royal Historian of Oz Writing Contest 

Copyright ©2023 Oz-Stravaganza! is part of the THE INTERNATIONAL L. FRANK BAUM AND ALL THINGS OZ HISTORICAL FOUNDATION. All rights reserved.