2015 Oz-Stravaganza! Contests

Entrants in this year’s contest must write a story of 500 or fewer words using all of the 15 words listed below, or a form of the word. 

4th, 5th & 6th Grade n previous  
combination  n statement  n revolt  n announce  n avoid  n terms
n official  n continue  n appoint  n nervous  n thrill  n silent  
n selfish  n plastic

7th-12th Grade:  n signature  n accumulate  n artificial  n casserole  
n decline  n enhance  n evaluate  n forfeit  n glimpse  n intercept  
n justice  n negative  n omitted  n paradise  n passenger

Adult:  n dismiss  n itinerary  n plethora  n stigma  n appease  n gullible  
n meticulous  n pristine  n viable  n analyze  n brief  n commission  
n conduct  n resolution  n vibrant

There are five categories for entrants: 4th grade, 5th grade, 6 grade, 7th-12th grades, and adult group. First, second, third, and fourth prizes will be awarded in each category. The International Wizard of Oz Club will donate the prizes.

Congratulations to the
2015 Royal Historian of Oz Writing Contest Winners 
4th Grade:  Devyn Balfe
                     Margaret White
                     Celine Brazeau 
5th Grade: Gabrielle Sennett 
                    Madison Teska 
                    Jacob Garofalo 
                    Kylee Farnham
                    Grace Hollenbeck 
6th, 7th, 8th Grade: 
                    Catherine Tardugno
                    Maggie Lockett 
                    Elizabeth Sabatino
                    Caleb Brazeau 
11th & 12th Grade: 
                    Nate Lanning 
                    Rachel McChain
                    Jenna Hassen 
                    Kristen Alger 
Adult:         Michael Singer 
                    Heather Valentine
                    Patricia Hunt 
                    Tricia Scheibler
                    Rita Fogarty

Story Requirements:

1. The story must be about the Land of Oz and the wonderful characters that live and visit there. 

2. The story must have a title (words from the list of fifteen may be used in the title, but that isn’t required). If the words are used in the title they must still be used in the story.

3. The story must be 500 words or fewer.

4. The story must contain all 15 words listed above, and each of the 15 words must be underlined in the final copy of the story.

5. Be Creative! Baum penned 13 sequels to “The Wonderful Wizard of Oz.” New characters and adventures were introduced in each book. Use Baum and or your own characters to create your Land of Oz story.

General Rules:

1. Only one entry per person. 

2. All entries must be typed, double-spaced, front side only on white printer paper (entries of more than one page should be stapled in the upper left-hand corner).

3. Electronic entries will NOT be accepted.

4. Entries will not be returned and will become property of Oz-Stravaganza!.

5. The registration form should be clipped, filled out, and attached to the entry. Be sure your name and phone number is on each page of your entry.

6. All entries should be sent to: Oz-Stravaganza! Royal Historian of Oz
Writing Contest,
 P. O. Box 456, Chittenango, NY 13037

7. All entries must be postmarked by midnight on May 14, 2015.

8. The entries will be judged by a group of qualified professionals.

9. The winners will be announced the week of May 25, 2015, on the 
Oz-Stravaganza! website. (www.oz-stravaganza.com)

10. Prizes will be awarded to the winners in each age group. The first place entries, in each age group will be read on stage Sunday, June 7th at 11 a.m., in Oz-Stravaganza! Park during the festival in Chittenango, NY. 

11. For further information contact Mark Zane at: 315-498-7254 or zanem@sunyocc.edu


Official Rules

For ages infants to adults!

Dress up like Dorothy, the Scarecrow, Tin Man, Lion, The Wicked Witch, Glinda, Munchkins or  any other Oz book/movie character. 

There will be THREE awards per category & age group. 

Registration begins at 12:15 p.m.
Stickles Park at the intersection of Genesee Street (Route 5) and Falls Blvd.

Judging starts promptly at 12:45 p.m.

Awards will be presented immediately following judging in the Gazebo in 
Stickles Park prior to the Oz parade.

All awards that are NOT picked up at the ceremony will be available  for the winners to pick up at the Chittenango Village Hall during normal business hours.

You MUSTregister/check-in at the registration area when you arrive.

Please print out the registration form located at the bottom of this page and bring with you to costume judging. Do not send in advance.

Please contact Terry: 
Phone: 315-727-4931 • E-mail: birdbrookbandb@gmail.com

*Light refreshments will be provided for costume contest contestants.

*Parents/Guardians are responsible for their children marching in the parade.

Sponsored byThe Wilson Insurance Agency, Inc.

Top row from left to right: Elizabeth Knox, Brenna Stanton, Anna Wickes, Paul Wood

Bottom row left to right: Chloe Foran, McKenzie Dombroski, Delaney Maciag, Antoinette Vigliotti

Congratulations to the 2015 Coloring Contest Winners 
Age 3: Arianna Farnsworth, East Syracuse 
            Claire Fisher, Oswego
            Na’zeer McRae, Syracuse

Age 4: Isabella Addison, Chittenango
            Madelyn Discenz, Chittenango
            Evan Fraser, Canastota
            Carter O’Connell, Chittenango
            Mia Schiralli, Chittenango

Age 5: Cole Antonelli, Chittenango
            Gabriella Chapman, Chittenango
            Haylee Goodson, Bridgeport
            Elyssa Judd, Chittenango
            Tommy Keville, Chittenango

Age 6: Jeremy Cadwell, Chittenango
            Lily Keville,  Chittenango
            Henry Reeves IV, Bridgeport
            Nora Revette, Chittenango 
            Maia Tica, Chittenango

Age 7: Lili Bernard, Chittenango
            Gabriella Durfee, Chittenango
            Sydney Lynch, Chittenango
            Micah Schiralli, Chittenango
            Sophia Smith, Chittenango

Age 8: Luke Fraser, Canastota
            Chloe Gwild, Oneida
            Cate McGork, Chittenango
            Peter Schulz, Chittenango
            Ally Smith, Chittenango
            Carrie Smith, East Syracuse

Age 9: Fiona Abrams, Oriskany Falls
            Rebecca Baldwin, Chittenango
            Hannah Eddy, Chittenango
            Nicole Fraser, Canastota
            Alyssa Lohr, Oneida
            Cheyanne Nellinger, Oneida

Age 10: Liam Bryne, Baldwinsville 
              Morgan Coffey, Baldwinsville
              Cate Iven, Baldwinsville
              Aiyana McDonell, Chittenango
              Chelsey Myers, Baldwinsville

Age 11: Grace Hollenbeck, Baldwinsville
              Megan Kingsley, Chittenango
              Bella Nadzan, Baldwinsville
              Stephen Richardson, Chittenango
              May Vincent, Chittenango

Contest Rules

  • Pdf file is located at the bottom of this page with  all of this year’s illustrations to be colored. Colored entries must be turned in by May 12, 2105
  • Eligible ages: 3 thru 11
  •  Five (5) winners will be selected for each age 
  • Winning entries will be displayed at All Things Oz, 219 Genesee St. All remaining entries will be displayed around the Chittenango business district.
  • Entries may be dropped off at the Chittenango Village Hall, Sullivan Town Hall, Sullivan Free Library in Chittenango or Bridgeport, Oneida Savings Bank in Chittenango, the Lake St., Bolivar Rd., or Bridgeport Elementary School main offices, The Wilson Insurance Agency, Inc., or All Things Oz. Additional forms may be picked up at the same locations.
  • Electronic entries are not eligible 
  • Winners will be notified by phone 
  • Winners will be presented prizes at an awards ceremony to be held Sunday June 8th in Oz Park. 
        Contact us at jwaite20@hotmail.com, 315-687-7114, 315-333-2286,