Be Creative—Be Your Own Author!
Baum penned 13 sequels to “The Wonderful Wizard of Oz.” New characters and adventures were introduced in each book. You can use Baum characters or create your own Oz characters or a combination of both to create your Land of Oz story.

There are seven categories for entrants this year: 3rd grade, 4th grade, 5th grade, 6th-7th grades, 8th-9th grades, 10th-12th grades and adult group. Prizes will be awarded in each category by The International Wizard of Oz Club.

Story Requirements
1. The story must be about the Land of Oz and the wonderful characters that live and visit there.

2. Story must have a title.

3. The story must be 500 words or fewer.

General Rules
1. Only one entry per person.

2. All entries must be typed, double-spaced, front side only on white printer paper (entries of more than one page should be stapled in the upper left-hand corner).

3. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic electronic entries will be accepted this year. Be sure to include registration form with you electronic entry.

4. Entries will not be returned and will become the property of Oz-Stravaganza!.

5. The registration form should be clipped, filled out completely, and attached to the entry. Be sure your name and phone number is on each page of your entry.

6. All entries should be mailed to: Oz-Stravaganza!, Royal Historian of Oz Writing Contest, P. O. Box 456, Chittenango, NY 13037 or emailed to

7. All entries must be postmarked by midnight on May 15, 2021.

8. The entries will be judged by qualified professionals.

9. The winners will be announced the week of June 1, 2021, on the Oz-Stravaganza! website. (

10. Prizes will be awarded to the winners in each division and will be mailed to the winners.

11. For further information contact: Mark Zane, 315-498-7254, or Judy Fogus, 315-391-0842

12. Additional entry forms available at the bottom of this page.
2021 Royal Historian of Oz Writing Contest Winners

First Place Winners
4th Grade—Olivia Wilcox 
5th Grade—Finn Johnson 
6th/7th Grade—Aidyn Quiles Washbon 
8th/9th Grade—Olivia Grosvenor 
10th/11th/12th Grade—Francesca Todeschini 
Adult—Barb Biedrzycki 

Special Awards
Most Creative—Barb Biedrzycki
Judges Choice—Olivia Grosvenor 
Ozziest—Kyra Congden

Additional Winners
Abigail Baldwin
Ella Sylstra
Alyssa Walwrath
Channing Galek
Madison Kinley
Jack Redmond
Kyra Congden
Kaden Budde
Angelina Kuts
Sadie Jones
Ezri Piedmont
Brayden Schrader
Brayden Sheriden
Christian Jones
A J Pascale
Conner Slawson
Brody Persons
Elijah Hoover
Christopher Blair
Molly Douglas
Madison Philo
Alexys Coonrod
Benny Mariani
Gary Merckel
Michael Lycett
Ron Baxley Jr
Sue Moreines
Dennis Kulis,
Feb 15, 2021, 6:34 PM